At Work #1

Good morning, World.

Today I feel blessed for two reasons. 1) I have a job that allows me blog while being there, 2) I am a morning person. Because last night the daylight saving time ended here in Finland, and the clocks were turned one hour “closer to the summer.” What does it mean for me? Well instead of getting up at 5 am to go to work – I had to get up at 4!

On Sunday mornings the public transportation doesn’t start running nearly enough, so my company pays a taxi for me. Usually the drivers seem just as sleepy as me. They just ask where I’m going and drive silently. But oh boy, the driver this morning! He goes definitely on my list of crazy cab drivers (yes, I have a list like that). I felt like Holden Caulfield, just wondering what kind of madmen I always run into. He wouldn’t shut up for a minute. I learned everything about his weekly schedule, when he goes to sleep and what he eats before going to bed. I learned about his sleeping problems, and his second job. I know people who seriously would have gotten out of that taxi. But lucky him, I don’t mind listening to people. I can always write about them afterwards. And I like being up early in the morning.

Beautiful morning in Helsinki.
Beautiful morning in Helsinki, western harbor.

So right now I have dealt with the first customers, and enjoying a quiet Sunday. I only work till 11, so I’ll be home sooner than I realize. Then my only problem will be deciding between going back to sleep, or writing my bachelor thesis. Oh what a choice… I hate having to choose between things I want to do and things I have to do. You end up feeling blue either way.

Well at least I get to do something I love – pack. I’m going to London with my sister next Wednesday. I loooove packing. It’s the best part of preparing for a trip. I like booking trip and making a schedule (oh I love making schedules!), but nothing compares to packing. That’s when I really get the feeling that I’m going somewhere. I’ll surely write more about this trip, maybe from there but definitely when I’m back.

As you may notice, I don’t actually have a lot to say… I’m just reallybored and feeling like writing.. I had a real topic in my mind, but I’ll blog about it when I have more time. Which might be never.. I’m pretty busy… That’s what you get when you study and work at the same time, try to see some friends sometimes, and maintain a good relationship with your overseas-fianceé. Plus normal things like cooking, working out, having some hobbies, reading books, watching movies etc.

I wonder if anyone really cares about reading this.. :P I feel like my blog is turning into the exact opposite of what I intended it to be. I’ll fix that!

But for now, just enjoy my uninteresting monologue.

2 thoughts on “At Work #1

  1. Hi! I’m just wondering what country your future husband is from?

    I have a Canadian husband and we use to have a long distance relationship, we are currently living in Helsinki together, for a while still. But he got a job from China and he is going to work there for 12 months.. And I feel terrified for going back to that long distance relationship again.

    Anyways I just wanted to wish all best for your relationship because that long distance stuff is so much work. Well I guess relationship can survive from that, If you really want to. :)

    Happy April for you

  2. Hi :) My fianceé is American, and we have been in long distance relationship for 5 years now! He will be moving here in two months, and I couldn’t be happier.
    I used to be one of those people who don’t believe long distance relationships could work, but when i found myself in one, I realized all you need is love, and some will-power. I have had amazing five years, and I wouldn’t change a day. It has been a journey, and it has proved how strong we both are. I couldn’t be happier to marry him.

    Good luck for you two! I have no doubt you can make it work again, even though it is scary. I’ll probably be blogging about relationships a lot more, so feel free to comment :)

Leave a Reply

